Guitar Forums

Go Back   Guitar Forums > General > Tales from the road

Old 12-04-2017, 06:26 PM   #1
SGMusic
Pokémon Master

SGMusic feels up puppies SGMusic feels up puppies SGMusic feels up puppies SGMusic feels up puppies SGMusic feels up puppies SGMusic feels up puppies SGMusic feels up puppies SGMusic feels up puppies
Default Band Member Confusion... Need impartial opinions

Okay, first of all, hope everyone's been doing well!

I'll give a brief recap of my band line-up history and then propose my current dilemma.

- I started playing as a duo with Bob (not his name lol) in Summer of 2016. We put up some videos on YouTube, gigged a bit locally, developed a decent following online. We also started dating. We always wanted it to be a full band but never found permanent members.

- Fall 2016, we break up, but we decide to keep doing the music because we thought we had a good thing going.

- Winter 2016, he starts dating someone new, and ditches the band out of the blue because he thought that girl wouldn't like it / would think it was weird. So I'm left on my own to try to find new people to play with and keep the band going because I don't want to lose the following we have.

- Summer 2017, I've finally solidified a lineup and not only kept it going, but found a bass player, drummer, and a new guitarist (his former role). We start a kickstarter, get it funded..

- Fall 2017, we are back in the studio to record our EP. Bob breaks up with that girl, moves back to this town. Messages me asking how I've been and if I would be interested in playing with him again.

Now, things to note:

- Bob is an AMAZING guitarist. Very good. He's just a fantastic musician all around, and he has a lot of experience gigging. Our new guitarist is good, too, but not quite as good or as adaptable in terms of being able to improvise, etc.