Guitar Forums

Go Back   Guitar Forums > General > Open Discussion

Old 02-08-2018, 07:44 PM   #1
Lefty Louie
Banned

Lefty Louie Just getting started
Default Funny guy in a weird sort of way comments.

Met with the accordion playing guy I mentioned here once before. We we're trying to work through a Texas Tornado song and he stops me in the middle of the first verse and says, "You're playing it wrong." Me not the best guitar player I let him tell me how it should be done and try his way. It sounds OK and I can see where he's coming from but it's certainly not the way the TT guys play it.

When I point this fact out to him he says, "I know, but my way will sound better."

I laugh my ass off at him for a minute and start listing the credentials of the TT and their members. He agrees they've accomplished a lot but that "I can even point out mistakes that Bach made."

Well I'm not technical in the least, and I guess artists may make mistakes on technical terms, but if the music sounds good, it's good and I plan on playing as close as the song was written, I'm not good enough to begin to criticize a song writers ability.

Does anyone know a guy like this and could he be correct? I find him funny so it's not an issue for us, just that he's odd that way.
Lefty Louie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 08:46 PM   #2
crank

crank Just getting started

Couple of thoughts.

First, when you are playing a song solo or as a duo there may be adjustments you can, perhaps should make to make the song sound good. Different instrumentation, no bass and drums.