Guitar Forums

Go Back   Guitar Forums > In The Studio > Recording & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2017, 03:30 PM   #1
DanRode
Dixie Flatline
 
DanRode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 889
DanRode Just getting started DanRode Just getting started
Default Studio Speaker Setup

I'm not really trying to build a home recording studio. I might record guitar but mostly, I want to play using sim software and/or an MFX pedal. No podcast, no voice recording.

I have a set of Mackie CR 3 speakers. Good size and volume for practicing. In general, they are a good fit but I have one serious issue. The bass too pronounced. I understand this to bass buildup do to the room and location. They are next to the wall and the left speaker is in corner but I have few options to relocate.

One option is to buy a different set of speakers that can adjust to a room and location like mine. The $200 Presonus Eris 4.5 my top choice. I'd prefer the smaller CR3 but the Erris 4.5 is not too much larger.

Is there anything else I can do to reduce the bass buildup without spending a fortune or sitting in the middle of the room?
__________________
You practice and you get better. It's very simple. - Phillip Glass
DanRode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 03:50 PM   #2
Plankton
Chum
 
Plankton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,849
Plankton The Oven's On But Nothing's Cooking Plankton The Oven's On But Nothing's Cooking Plankton The Oven's On But Nothing's Cooking Plankton The Oven's On But Nothing's Cooking Plankton The Oven's On But Nothing's Cooking
Default

Maybe some low frequency bass traps would help, but it really depends on the size of the room you're talking about.
__________________
www.planktonsodyssey.com
Plankton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 05:08 PM   #3
DanRode
Dixie Flatline
 
DanRode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 889
DanRode Just getting started DanRode Just getting started
Default

Yeah, that seems like the obvious answer but it's a odd shaped room. I can think of only one place I could put a bass trap. I may just need to buy different speakers.
__________________
You practice and you get better. It's very simple. - Phillip Glass
DanRode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 06:22 PM   #4
BobF
Random Opinion Generator
 
BobF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Southcentral MO
Posts: 6,372
BobF Will lend you their face while your ass is on vacation BobF Will lend you their face while your ass is on vacation BobF Will lend you their face while your ass is on vacation BobF Will lend you their face while your ass is on vacation BobF Will lend you their face while your ass is on vacation BobF Will lend you their face while your ass is on vacation BobF Will lend you their face while your ass is on vacation BobF Will lend you their face while your ass is on vacation
Default

I picked up IKM's ARC System 2 during a sale last year. Works VERY well. I route all of my audio thru my monitors. This made such a huge improvement for the DAW, I set it up to for all of my PC's audio. Very sweet.
__________________
--
Official member of the Bugera V22 & Laney IRT Studio clubs

--
Angels are crying because TRUTH has died ...


Illegitimi non carborundum
BobF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 06:34 PM   #5
DanRode
Dixie Flatline
 
DanRode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 889
DanRode Just getting started DanRode Just getting started
Default

That looks interesting but it's beyond my needs a budget

Do you need to run everything through the AI and/or DAW to get the ARC?

I imagine playing Guitar -> Mfx -> Speaker aux input most of the time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobF View Post
I picked up IKM's ARC System 2 during a sale last year. Works VERY well. I route all of my audio thru my monitors. This made such a huge improvement for the DAW, I set it up to for all of my PC's audio. Very sweet.
__________________
You practice and you get better. It's very simple. - Phillip Glass
DanRode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 09:07 PM   #6
BobF
Random Opinion Generator
 
BobF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Southcentral MO
Posts: 6,372
BobF Will lend you their face while your ass is on vacation BobF Will lend you their face while your ass is on vacation BobF Will lend you their face while your ass is on vacation BobF Will lend you their face while your ass is on vacation BobF Will lend you their face while your ass is on vacation BobF Will lend you their face while your ass is on vacation BobF Will lend you their face while your ass is on vacation BobF Will lend you their face while your ass is on vacation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanRode View Post
That looks interesting but it's beyond my needs a budget

Do you need to run everything through the AI and/or DAW to get the ARC?

I imagine playing Guitar -> Mfx -> Speaker aux input most of the time.

ARC is in the path for my default Win audio playback. EVERYTHING plays thru it by default.

My DAW interface is only used for DAW/guitar, so the ARC VST needs to be loaded when that interface is being used.

I have a matrix so I can have different sources routed thru different speakers. Most often, my AI and Win audio devices are routed thru my monitors (Event PS8s)

It's not as complicated as all of the typing makes it seem.
__________________
--
Official member of the Bugera V22 & Laney IRT Studio clubs

--
Angels are crying because TRUTH has died ...


Illegitimi non carborundum
BobF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Guitar Competition | Piano Lessons